“Do not stand at my grave and weep

 I am not there. I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.

I am the diamond glints on snow.

I am the sunlight on ripened grain.

I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush

I am the swift uplifting rush

Of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry;

I am not there. I did not die.”

Mary Elizabeth Frye.

This is my first post for 2021. This is a difficult topic to write about, however we all go through this in our lives.

There are five stages of grief:

Denial – This can’t be happening. This isn’t happening.

Anger – Why is this happening to me? Someone is to blame.

Bargaining – Make this not happen and in return I will….

Depression – I’m too sad to do anything.

Acceptance – I’m at peace with what happened.

“Grief feels like driving through dense fog with no direction and no end in sight.” Unknown.

These stages are merely a guide of emotions we experience as we go through grief. It isn’t followed in a sequential order. One can jump back and forth between them. It takes time and each individual mourns and grieves differently.

Photo by VisionPic .net on Pexels.com

 However  I believe ultimately acceptance needs to be reached if we are to continue living in the best way possible. There is a time to be sad and a time to mourn, but there’s no benefit (health wise) in carrying it around. Life goes on is a cliché we often hear, but nevertheless a true one. Our loved one would want us to move forward. The best way I can think of, of honouring them is to live our best life. Till we meet again.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven: A time to be born, a time to die. A time to weep and a time to laugh; a time to mourn and a time to dance.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

Photo by icon0.com on Pexels.com

Happy New Year!

Blessings to all xx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s